Why I’m Not Clapping for Your Latest Medium Masterpiece

I Don’t Care How Good It Is

Roz Warren, Writing Coach
The Startup
Published in
3 min readJul 12, 2019

--

Photo by jisu lee on Unsplash

Claps are the currency of Medium and it’s not always clear how best to use them.

Most people have a system, from the Single Clappers who clap just once, for everything, always, no matter what, to those people who clap 50 times for everything they read, from the lamest limerick to the most insightful essay.

Some folks read and comment and highlight, but skimp on the applause. Other folks clap for crap. I’ll read a little poem that is, in my estimation, a total turd, and see that it has somehow managed to earn a thousand claps.

This is a mystery to me.

As long as your clap-dispensing system makes sense to you, and you’re taking the trouble to interact with my work, I’m fine. Sure, it’s feels a little weird that, an hour after I’ve posted it, my latest humor piece has received 2 claps, 23 claps, 14 claps, 37 claps, 50 claps and 43 claps.

What does this mean?

Who knows?

I suppose I’ll find out when I get paid at the end of the month.

As for me? I try to be a generous clapper.

If I love your work, I will clap enthusiastically. If I don’t love your work? Well if I’ve managed to read…

--

--

Roz Warren, Writing Coach
The Startup

Writing Coach Roz Warren (roSwarren@gmail.com) helps Medium writers craft better, more boost-able stories. Roz used to write for the New York Times.