Why it’s good to be a bad multitasker

Aytekin Tank
The Startup
Published in
7 min readNov 14, 2018

--

Originally published on JOTFORM.COM

I remember like it was yesterday… my first post-graduation job interview.

As I sat across from the hiring manager, my palms sweating and my posture nearly too upright, I fielded the usual interview questions:

Tell us about your experience.

What are your greatest strengths?

Where do you see yourself in five years?

And then, a seemingly simple one:

How are you at multitasking?

My answer was nearly automatic. “I’m a great multitasker,” I said, adding that I could easily juggle several tasks at once.

I answered truthfully because, at the time, I thought I excelled at switching from task to task. Plus, that seemed to be a desirable trait — a sign of efficiency and productivity.

Today, my answer would be different. I’m not a strong multi-tasker.

And I think that’s a good thing because now, I practice the opposite of multitasking: deep work. I pursue undistracted focus and try to complete one (and only one) task at a time.

When my company, JotForm, is recruiting new hires, we also look for candidates who excel in deep work. Here’s why.

--

--

Aytekin Tank
The Startup

Founder and CEO of www.jotform.com || Bestselling author of Automate Your Busywork. Find more at https://aytekintank.com/ (contact: AytekinTank@Jotform.com)