Why My Success in Writing (And in Everything) Depends on One Thing

It might be the same for you

Jonas Ressem
The Startup

--

Photo by Al ghazali on Unsplash

I have time

That’s what the wallpaper of my phone reads. I sat it in November 2019, to remind myself of my most difficult task.

My first article dates back to June 2017. A time where I didn’t know the landscape of writing. Nor how hard it can be at times. I had recently healed from depression, thanks to reading some amazing articles on the subject, and now I wanted to share what I had learned from the experience.

So, in my first article, I wrote down my most pressing thoughts and hit publish. It was not a masterpiece, but it did, however, mark the beginning of my writing career. I was off in a new direction.

As I continued to write more articles, I realized they weren’t performing as well as I had hoped. I thought I had something valuable to share, but it didn’t seem like others shared that opinion. It was frustrating. But still believing in my work, I refused to give up. I just needed to find a way to get it out to more people. As Arthur Miller once said:

“Don’t be seduced into thinking that that which does not make a profit is without value.”

Quantity vs Quality

--

--

Jonas Ressem
The Startup

From Norway. Building onliving.life. Exploring life through psychology, philosophy and entrepreneurship. Come explore with me: http://eepurl.com/dAtfdv