Why People Don’t Volunteer (Again)

Roxy A
The Startup
Published in
4 min readSep 28, 2019

--

Photo by Anna Earl on Unsplash

Volunteering can be rewarding and draining at the same time. Much of the work is under-appreciated. Dealing with office politics when donating precious time to an organization is off-putting.

I volunteered on many occasions in various capacities, and almost always felt disappointed.

My first volunteer experience was at a local hospital in high school. The staff had nothing for me to do. I sat in a room all day and did nothing. Most of my Saturdays were spent this way when I was 16. I swore off from volunteering at a hospital again.

After that, I volunteered at different places — libraries, non-profit events, conventions, marathons, corporate events. I also did pro-bono skills-based volunteering, to name a few.

According to the Corporation for National & Community Service about 25% of the adult population volunteered in 2013. This is the lowest ever reordered.

Here are some reasons why many Americans sign-up to volunteer for a cause and don’t come back again:

Volunteers are overbooked

At some events, the organizers sign-on 50 volunteers, but only need a fraction of them. Extra people are standing around and feeling useless.

--

--

Roxy A
The Startup

Switched careers. Frontend Developer|| Former eCommerce buyer||Twitter: @raksheen