MINDFULNESS SERIES

Why Positive Affirmations and Mantras Work

What do your daily thoughts consist of? If you haven’t been paying attention, you should.

Sherry Chapman
The Startup
Published in
6 min readFeb 15, 2019

--

Did you ever grow anything in the Garden of your Mind?
You can grow ideas
In the Garden of your mind (Mister Rogers) Photo source: SChapman

First comes thought; then organization of that thought, into ideas and plans; then transformation of those plans into reality. The beginning, as you will observe, is in your imagination.

Napoleon Hill

I’ve read and heard amazing stories of people who have achieved success by transforming their thinking, adopting mantras, and spoken affirmations. I have experienced success from it myself.

Although I’ve used it in my own life, I have woefully neglected practicing it with regularity.

I sat myself down and examined the thoughts playing and replaying in my mind. Many of them were discouraging and pessimistic, and that’s when I realized why affirmations work so well.

I’ve concluded the reason success and happiness seem so elusive is in part a result of the thoughts to support those positive elements are indeed elusive themselves.

If we create an environment in our mind and with our mouth that consists of positive…

--

--

Sherry Chapman
The Startup

Writer, animal lover, traveler, caregiver and seeking the unconventional life in bits and pieces.