Why some copywriters make bank, while others pinch pennies

Sean Meyer
The Startup
Published in
8 min readJul 12, 2018

--

Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

I’ll never forget the first time I read an article about some guy getting paid $125/hr for writing, and all I could think was…

Yeahhhhhh, bullshit.

There was just no convincing me that people would actually pay that much money for such a simple task, but at the same time, I was intrigued to figure out this scam…

So I dug into it more and after a random series of events, I had the opportunity to jump on a phone call with some guy who was making $95/hr for the same type of writing.

Of course, I was extremely skeptical, and I think he could tell by my questions…

Because 5 minutes into our call he stopped and asked how familiar I was with copywriting?

To be honest with you, I had no idea what it was, and finally realized it wasn’t the “all rights reserved” type of writing like 20 minutes before our call…

So I just played it off and said I knew it was a form of ghostwriting, which is when he laughed and mentioned how that’s the main problem most people have…

Because instead of realizing what it really is, such as understanding human psychology and writing words that get customers to convert…

--

--

Sean Meyer
The Startup

Freelance Copywriter. If you need my help with something, please DM on LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/seanmmeyer/