Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Why Students Need to Write More, Type Less

Handwriting is falling by the wayside. Students benefit when they write more.

Jennifer Osborne
Published in
5 min readMar 24, 2019

--

I am pro-technology. I am a Google Certified Educator. I have written about utilizing technology meaningfully and effectively in the classroom.

I believe in teaching students how to navigate technology instead of choosing to believe it does not exist.

However, in schools that rely heavily on devices, there is an unsettling trend in student learning.

Technology has made instruction more convenient. But at what cost to student learning?

The Situation

In many schools, students come prepared to learn with their devices in tow.

I am able to instruct students to research topics in class using their computers instead of sending them to the (gasp!) library. I am able to ask students to type essays and share documents quickly through Google Classroom and Turnitin.

Recently, my students were studying science vocabulary words in class to prepare for a quiz. Back in the olden days when I went to school, I would have copied the words down by hand and re-written the definition in my own words.

--

--

Jennifer Osborne
The Startup

Educational Leadership Policy Ph.D. Student ⎪Editor of Educate. medium.com/educate-pub