Why we need more role models for women and diversity in tech

Holly Stephens
The Startup
Published in
3 min readMay 28, 2018
From Hacker Chick Blog.

I grew up with very few role models. That’s not to say there weren’t people I admired, just very few who had followed the path I was looking to create for myself. I’ve always been in tech, but wouldn’t consider myself techy. I mean I’ve tried to code, those HTML codes on emails is about as far as my coding abilities go and I’ve attempted a few coding courses and agonised watching shows like the Big Bang Theory. The female stereotype is never too positive.

And this is what I’d like to change. Walking into tech meetups, especially blockchain, I’m one of maybe six other females in a group of 100. We need to encourage more people from diverse backgrounds into the tech community. Because it can be overwhelming without knowing just where to start.

It’s what lead me to start Triangles. I’ve always wanted to get involved with tech, but was not sure where to begin. That first push of the right events to attend and some direction was what I needed. I’m sure I’m not the only one. As a young aspiring entrepreneur, you quickly realise just how collaborative and giving the community can be.

Why do we need diversity? Well the data says that female tech lead businesses generate 35% more return on your investment than our male counterparts. And coincidentally a 2015 McKinsey report found that those in the top quartile for ethnic and racial diversity in management were 35% more likely to have financial returns above their industry mean. Compelling reading. Additionally those in the top quartile for gender diversity were 15% more likely to have returns above the industry mean.

Social psychologist Heidi Grant PhD, explains in this HBR article that diversity is “key for boosting your company’s joint intellectual potential..and creating a more diverse workplace will help to keep your team members’ biases in check and make them question their assumptions”.

From a business and financial objective it makes sense.

So how do we do it?

Hire people that don’t look like you. Challenge yourself to hire outside of the mould of your experience — we tend to base our choices on the behaviour or outcomes from previous people who we associate with new people. A kind of stereotyping. We need to make teams feel empowered to use their voice, not like they have to downplay their talents in any way.

Challenge yourself to be a mentor. I guarantee your mentee will thrive under encouraging leadership. Who wouldn’t want someone more senior to believe in them? The world of work is becoming more competitive — we’re all going to need to upskill. Deloitte found that a half-life of a skill at work is now just five years. Meaning 50% of what you learned will be outdated within five years. That used to be 15–20 years.

When we look at new technologies, like crypto/blockchain, the numbers around diversity are even lower. For females it may be because we’re known for taking less risks.

But change a life today and become a champion for a gender that’s not your own. Diversity can’t happen without those in positions of power and influence helping make the changes necessary for a more inclusive workplace.

I guarantee you’ll see the benefit on a personal and business level if you do!

Tune in for a discussion on women in tech and business tomorrow (Tuesday 29th May) on Sky News where I’m speaking with the wonderful Sarah Moran, Tanya Titman and Anastasia Volkova.

This story is published in The Startup, Medium’s largest entrepreneurship publication followed by 328,729+ people.

Subscribe to receive our top stories here.

--

--

Holly Stephens
The Startup

Female Founder | Women in Blockchain | Speaker & Host | Entrepreneur | Winner of Smart 30 under 30 & Community Startup.