Photo by Philipp Kämmerer on Unsplash

Why Working and Sipping Cocktails on the Beach, Will Not Make You Happy for Long.

Michael Burkhardt
The Startup
Published in
4 min readAug 25, 2019

--

Laying on the beach and drinking cocktails while placing your laptop in front of various backgrounds to make it look more impressive for your Instagram is a common standard nowadays.

However, it is an unfulfilling dream built on the wrong premise.

It is based on the belief, “once I am on the beach or somewhere in “paradise” I am happy and fulfilled.”

However, this is not how it works in reality.

This is me on the beach in Mexico working,

Am I happy?

Yes

Am I joyful?

Yes

Does it have to do with the beach?

No, only very slightly!

The pursuit of happiness won’t bring you anywhere

I have nothing against beaches and nice travel destinations to work from.

However, most of the content and promises out there is illusionary marketing.

--

--

Michael Burkhardt
The Startup

Slow Travel | Meditation | Founding Member, CMO @Omdena