Why You Need Desk Toys: There’s Science Behind Play

Laura Pyne
The Startup
Published in
4 min readNov 4, 2019
Source: Pixabay.com

A few weeks back, I attended a brand storytelling session. I couldn’t wait to take part in something that seemed to combine my favorite activities: creative writing and branding.

But, I have to be honest. When I walked into the conference room, every red flag in my head went off at once. The tables were filled with toys: Play-Doh, Legos, pipe cleaners, the works.

What have I gotten myself into? I thought.

I’m a creative person but this? This felt like a step too far. Come on.

I’m a team player though. And, I cared a lot about what we would be putting together. So I sat down, unsure of what was coming next.

As it turns out, the presenters explained, we weren’t going to be instructed to build something specific; no group projects were about to ensue. The toys were simply there to serve as creative tools. The presenters let us know that when our hands are busy, our minds are better able to think outside the box.

Fine. I decided. Others can play. I’m here to write.

As the day went on, my imagination was stretched. A team of “non-creatives” came up with AMAZING stories. We learned from each other and about each other. Some really cool insights were gained and we were stretched.

I looked around the room as it was time to start wrapping up. Others in the room were wearing hats made of pipe cleaners. There were lego castles. Most surprising to me was when I looked down at my own spot:

That little creation in the bottom left corner, complete with a Play-Doh base, swirly pipe cleaners, and a flower? Guilty. And, it wasn’t my only creation of the day, it’s just the only one that was caught on camera.

It turns out, I couldn’t resist the opportunity to “play.” Even more so, I left the workshop feeling completely enthused. I felt as though every part of me was able to take part in creating something pretty amazing and learning new tools that I couldn’t have comprehended before. I was stretched, I grew, and honestly, I felt ready to take on the world. I couldn’t wait to share what happened in that space with others.

When We Play, Magic Happens: It’s Science

The creators behind this workshop? They weren’t pulling ideas out of thin air. They were using what science has demonstrated in an unconventional yet amazing way: they were harnessing the power of play.

It’s not a new concept. Busy hands can lead to pretty cool results — they can alter our brain chemistry. Back in the early 1800s, doctors used to prescribe knitting to anxious women: repetitive motion seemed to calm nerves and the “reward” in the form of a final product lead to the release of oxytocin, the brain’s “feel-good” chemical.

Repetitive motions actually alter our neurochemistry: they change the way we think, the way we see the world, and what we feel capable of.

When that repetitive motion mimics “play,” the results are even more stunning. Creativity starts to emerge from behind fear and the limits we place on ourselves. We are less inhibited. We’re able to see things differently. We become capable of thinking outside the box. We enter a new zone. Really neat things happen.

Play Doesn’t Need to be an Exception to “Normalcy”

The thing is, harnessing the power of play doesn’t need to be reserved for special workshops and conferences. We can all take advantage of a little extra creativity, every single day, just be modifying our workspaces.

Might it lead to a few strange glances from co-workers? Sure. But, I’m willing to bet that if others are able to step out of their “reserved” spaces, the idea will catch on.

Wondering where to start? Here are a few ideas:

  • Play-Doh, pipe cleaners, Legos — keep a few stashed in a box near your desk, easy to access when you need to focus differently (Why reinvent the wheel? This conference was onto something).
  • Stress balls. Fidget spinners. They might not require much creativity, but, they’ll get your hands moving.
  • Crayons. Fun watercolor markers. Coloring books. Lettering books. When you need to step away, think about creative options, instead of phone games or social networks.
  • Update your space. What makes you happy? Add it to your office space. Mine is filled with succulents, orchids and Disney art. They are not related to my professional life, but they make my space a place that I want to spend time.

I’m not saying these are right for you. I am saying that enabling creativity is important, especially where you spend most of your time. Remember, we’re talking about altering and improving brain chemistry here!

Instead of looking outside of your “normal” for opportunities to think differently, allowing your brain to immerse itself into what you do day in and day out in a different way (starting with play) might just be what you need to go “all-in” on the regular.

What could play do for you? How could you change your desk to make this possible, today?

--

--

Laura Pyne
The Startup

Writer, marketer, gatherer of random knowledge and travel enthusiast.