Why You Need to Start Charging More as a Freelancer

Elna Cain
The Startup
Published in
6 min readFeb 2, 2020

--

Image from Kaboompics

I am a very frugal person by nature.

I rarely buy new items if I can find a better deal second-hand. Without realizing it, I took that mentality into my writing business.

As a new freelance writer, I struggled to try to find the right freelance writing rate for me. I was happy getting $.10/word but, realized that other freelancers were charging a lot more for the same type of content.

I knew that I could charge a lot more if I wanted this to work.

The Surprising Benefits of Charging More

I raised my freelance writing prices by gaining new clients. The new clients and brands that wanted to work with me were not turned off by my rate of $300–500 an article. This allowed me to start making $150 an hour on average.

As I picked up more clients, I was able to say goodbye to lower-paying clients without animosity. This, in turn, led me to earn more while working less.

I had ad hoc clients and was able to pick and choose my clients and earn my worth as a writer.

This gave me more time to pursue my passions like my other blog, Twins Mommy.

Why You Should Charge More

--

--

Elna Cain
The Startup

SaaS freelance writer & mom with real-world marketing experience. Mentors writers on her blog https://elnacain.com. Need a writer? elna@elnacain.com