Why your boss doesn’t praise you

And 9 ways to get the feedback you need

Aytekin Tank
The Startup

--

Originally published on JOTFORM.COM

After graduating with a degree in Computer Science, I moved to New York City to pursue my first job as a Junior Developer at a small software firm.

When my first day rolled round, I was bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, eager to show my new colleagues what I could do.

I spent all day coding up the graphic designer’s wireframes.

But within a minute of sending the mockups, I received an email from my new boss. He was disappointed, and he didn’t mince his words.

Back at home, I experienced something resembling the 5 stages of grief:

Anger (on my first day!),

denial (what do they know, anyway?),

bargaining (maybe if I redo the coding tonight I’ll still have a job tomorrow),

and depression (I should never have left Connecticut).

Finally, I reached acceptance.

The coding had been shoddy. But it still hurt.

I felt my boss’s hyper-detailed breakdown was overkill and he could have at least cushioned the blow with some praise.

--

--

Aytekin Tank
The Startup

Founder and CEO of www.jotform.com || Bestselling author of Automate Your Busywork. Find more at https://aytekintank.com/ (contact: AytekinTank@Jotform.com)