How To Identify Your Values

“… and act towards them when life gets tough.”

Brian Pennie, PhD
The Startup
Published in
6 min readJan 30, 2019

--

Do you ever feel lost, aimless, or a little confused, like you’re sailing through life without a rudder to guide you?

If so, it’s likely that you’re not aligned with your values.

Your values are what give you meaning, purpose, and direction in life, but if you don’t know what they are, how are they supposed to guide you.

How to identify your values

Values are beliefs, attitudes and standards of behaviour about what’s important in life. They are also subjective and may change over time. Some commonly held values include integrity, loyalty, compassion and honesty.

To identify your values, you might start by asking yourself a few questions:

If I was at my own funeral, what would I want my friends to say about me?

If I was getting married, what kind of person would my in-laws want me to be?

If I became the leader of my country, what qualities would I need?

You could also ask people you respect about their values, especially those who are further along the path.

When you identify your values you will then need to act towards them, and that’s what…

--

--

Brian Pennie, PhD
The Startup

Change is possible. I write to show that | Recovered heroin addict turned doctor. www.brianpennie.com