Work in the Time of Corona

Emily O. Weltman
The Startup
Published in
12 min readMar 23, 2020

--

A tale of a woman during a global pandemic, forced to choose between the family and the job she loves.

The view from my attic office, when I finally sit down to work at night.

Perceptions are changing

I have been working on this article for 11 days, from my home office, couch, bed, kitchen table, kids room on my phone and porch. Everyday since I began, I am reassured by other women that I am not alone. How many articles have you read this week that we are “in the new normal”? Part of that new normal: Remote work is here to stay.

We can finally rejoice that our work-from-home ways are not offending anyone. Corporations are now accepting flexible work. In all channels, they are cheering on #wfh culture. Clearly though, working women across the country are not rejoicing. We are hanging on by a thread.

Prior to COVID-19, physical distancing (2 weeks ago in the U.S.!) work for women was different. Remote work was too. Working from home came with negative assumptions. Remote-workers were cheating, lazy, hermits, poor collaborators, lonely, or lived in their sweats/pj’s (Ok this last one may be true).

My home office as imagined by my children. Stacks of paper, uneaten pizza and half-finished La Croix cans everywhere. Pictures of love on the wall.

Unconscious bias told bosses if they couldn’t see you working, you probably weren’t. Maybe…

--

--

Emily O. Weltman
The Startup

Emily Weltman, M. Ed., strategy consultant, social entrepreneur + coFLOWco founder is “Leading with Purpose–because the patriarchy isn’t going to fix Itself.”💫