New to Work and Worrying — The Millennials

Eve Arnold
The Post-Grad Survival Guide
6 min readMay 20, 2020

--

Photo: Nathan Dumlao/Unsplash

“It’s fine, don’t worry about it.”

Cue worrying all night. Waking up the next morning and it was meeting I’d been dreading. Not because I knew what to expect. It was because of the exact opposite. If you are new to the world of work it adds another dimension to worry about… the unknown. I didn’t know what to expect. I’d never been in this ‘type’ of meeting before. I knew there were ‘important people’, I knew it was in one of those fancy meeting rooms. But apart from that I was pretty blind.

We worry a lot. We worry about money, family, friends but very frequently we work about work. We worry about what to say in that meeting, how that senior person might view us, whether our work is good enough. Or rather, whether we are good enough.

I worried incessantly as a kid. I would worry about getting told off, about not getting high marks in the test, about not knowing the answers. And of course when I moved into the world of work the worrying continued.

There was a small study done where by 2000 people were asked how frequently they worry. Turns out it’s a lot. 6.5 years in total across the group. Another article reported that us humans spend 5 whole years of our lives worrying.

History

--

--