Writing On The Internet Taught Me Some Harsh Lessons

What you need to know if you want to make money writing online.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
7 min readJun 22, 2024

--

Image created by the author using Dall-E

My online writing origin story is different from how you’d expect it to be.

I didn’t write to make money or chase fame. I’d always loved writing since I was a child. My first published poem was written when I was four.

Words were my favorite form of catharsis. Writing helped ease the load off my chest. It gave me an outlet for my imagination and emotions.

I started writing online for a similar reason. I had a ton of stories I needed to say, and in 2014, the online publishing platform Quora gave me the perfect outlet. After writing consistently for a few months, I got followers and praises from people all over the world. In my hometown, I started getting recognized by random people on the streets. This was my first taste of “fame,” and I couldn’t get enough of it.

Writing on Quora started an avalanche of events that changed the course of my life. I sought out platforms to publish long-form content and landed on Medium. I published four books and started freelancing for US-based startups.

Fast forward to 2024, and I’m a full-time writer. I work on my own terms, can take vacations without worrying about money, and have found…

--

--