Writing on the train, plane, and beach bar

Simon Hargreaves
The Startup
Published in
4 min readJul 30, 2019

--

Photo by Link Hoang on Unsplash

If you’re like me, the few times you can get a serious amount of uninterrupted writing done is on holiday or sneaking off to a coffee shop for a few hours. To make the most of this time a travel writing setup is an excellent addition to your hand luggage, purse or man-bag.

My essentials consist of a good bluetooth keyboard, a mobile device stand, backup battery, and the ubiquotous smartphone. For the more advanced writing gadgets I have a budget e-ink tablet and a DEX adaptor.

The Keyboard

My bluetooth keyboard is the microsoft universal keyboard. It has an excellent key feel for a mobile keyboard and the keys are well enough spaced for reasonably quick typing. It won’t be a full keyboard experience, but the keys are pretty close to the feel of a macbook type keyboard, if slightly more cramped. It charges from a standard USB cable and it can run for weeks on a full charge. I’ve had mine for years and it has survived numerous beach holidays and the occasional spell of rain. I have a much older model, which doesn’t seem to be available any more, but the latest model, is much more compact and seems to fold out to a better sized keyboard, but I haven’t personally tested it.

--

--

Simon Hargreaves
The Startup

I've a writer, film maker, team leader and technologist. Working on the forefront of creative technology for over 20 years.