My Relationship with the Color Yellow

The color yellow follows me around through graphic design, travel, other people, and even food. This article covers the meaning of yellow throughout history & culture, but also my personal experiences with the color yellow.

Maria Badasian
The Startup

--

Not long ago, I read a book by Maggie Nelson called Bluets. The book is a long poem describing her personal relationship with blue. She also describes the world’s relationship with blue by referencing art, culture, history, and philosophy. The genre of Bluets is poetry, and it reads like poetry, but it also feels like a series of essays/stories. Some call it a lyrical essay or prose poetry. The book is in the form of a list; each new occurrence of blue starts a unique number. And sometimes these occurrences are connected.

Maggie Nelson quote from poetry book, Bluets layered over blue sky with yellow pink cloud

A poetic essay about the color yellow is not what this article looks like. However, I am taking you down the path of yellow’s history, stories associated with the color, and how it reveals itself in my life…

--

--

Maria Badasian
The Startup

I write research-based stories; about art, design, food, travel, environmental issues, human rights, & human experience.