Yes, You Can Get Your Products Into Target

Cynthia Wylie
The Startup
Published in
4 min readApr 22, 2024

--

Photo by Max Bender on Unsplash

“In order to attain the impossible, one must attempt the absurd.” — Miguel de Cervantes

When I started my last company, I chose to grow using a licensing model. I had cute little characters and published children’s books (by a major publisher). I also had a very cool children’s product with three patents.

Someone referred me to a friend that worked in an animation studio in charge of licensing their established and well-known intellectual property. I came right to the point and asked him how I could get my products into Target.

I’ll never forget what he said. Target is impossible. You’ll never get anything in there until you have your own T.V. show or are well-established.

And of course I thought, just watch me.

The following is a well-worn and oft-read (every morning) refrigerator magnet that has hung on our refrigerator door for the last twenty years:

Long story short. My product was in Target the following year.

I won’t go into the details here, for that is another post.

--

--

Cynthia Wylie
The Startup

Founder of Bloomers Island. Published children’s book author at PRH. Writes about big kid’s stuff like economics & business, too. TheProjectConsultant.com.