You Don’t Have to Be on Every Single Social Media Platform

When you’re starting as a freelancer, a creator, or a startup you kind of have to be on social media, right? Well. Yes and no. Let me explain!

Burk
The Startup

--

Photo by Christian Wiediger on Unsplash

One social media platform for everything

No platform does it all… well. Many try (wink, wink, Facebook) but it might actually be hurting them. There is a good reason why so many different social media platforms thrive. And why plenty of them fail.

Let’s take Twitter as an example. I love Twitter because I’m a writer. My main objective as a writer is… obviously writing. Text is my content format. And Twitter is and has always been primarily a text-focused social media network. As much as they try to figure out other ways.

Sure, you can upload pictures to Twitter, you can embed YouTube videos, and even create stories… oh sorry, I mean “Fleets”. And those are all valuable assets but the focus still lies on Tweets, basic text-based tweets. With a link or embed here and there. That’s not to say that you’re better off not using images or Fleets. But don’t make those your priority on Twitter. Not yet.

I firmly believe text will never get old as a social media content format. Certainly not…

--

--

Burk
The Startup

1.5M+ reads online — Check out my newsletter for free stuff & more https://byburk.net