Photo by Nicholas Green on Unsplash

You Don’t Need To Be Famous To Share Your Story

Athirah Syamimi
The Startup

--

I’ve got to be honest, I’ve been in the rut lately. Each time I try to write, I start questioning myself.

  • Am I good enough?
  • Who am I to write about such topics?
  • There are way better writers who should cover this instead of me?

These questions filled me with days of self-doubt. It affected my writing. More importantly, it affected my sleep because the voices in my head keep haunting me.

Bottling up my emotions made it worse. I just… I couldn’t talk to anyone about it. Assuming nobody would understand me, I just kept it in.

Until I couldn’t.

It takes another perspective to see the things we’ve missed out

Last night, I finally told my partner about what’s been going on.

Do you think you need to be someone like Jack Ma before you can share your story?

That’s what my partner asked me and I replied, “yes”. But hearing it coming from someone’s mouth made it sound stupid.

I realised I’ve been caught in a problem I created for myself.

--

--

Athirah Syamimi
The Startup

Writing about life, side hustling and content creation.