You Don’t Need to Pay for Good Advice

Emily Kingsley
The Startup
Published in
4 min readDec 3, 2020

--

I’ll tell you why for free.

Photo by Michael Walk on Unsplash

“The younger you are the more you know.”

This is what I tell my high school seniors who are on the cusp of graduation. They’ve chosen a career path and a college, they’ve identified their passions and interests. They’ve solidified their GPAs and finally grown out of half a decade of acne.

They are sure of themselves and their worldviews and it is awesome. Sometimes, I bask in their confidence, trying to remember what it was like to feel so sure of myself. They’re all hovering around their 18th birthday, which makes them adults of the most amazing and terrifying variety.

I’d be a fool to try to give them any real advice. Instead, I listen.

And what I hear is that they know how the world works. They understand psychology and what makes people tick. They know why the earth turns and what they’ll do to make their first million. With less than two decades under their belts, they know about politics, religion, power, and social media. They are experts at everything.

They don’t know what it feels like to question their beliefs or feel the landscape of everything they think is true start to shift.

On the flip side, I have a few friends who remember where they were when Kennedy was shot and when Nixon…

--

--

Emily Kingsley
The Startup

Always polishing the flip side of the coin. Live updates from the middle class. e.kingsleywhalen@gmail.com. She/her.