You Think Doing Great Work Promotes Itself? Think Again

How to add more time to your day and start growing your business

Marilyn Wo
The Startup
Published in
6 min readJun 8, 2019

--

In the past, I found it hard to grow my business. What does “growth” even mean? Does it mean I must expand from a one-man team to set up offices all over the world? Or has it got to do with having more profits? If that’s the case, is it okay to stop growing?

It really depends on your life goals. In my case, growth is to allow me and my family the freedom to create, to help other purposeful businesses make an impact and to help other designers live and work from anywhere by joining our team. In this case, the more people know about us and work with us, the more we will grow.

I found it extremely tough to reach my goals because, for the past 10 to 15 years, I was spending way too much of my time only delivering design work to my customers.

With only so many hours in a day, all my time was spent finding the perfect colour, font, layout, perfecting my craft and trying to make a design look perfect, yet to be rejected at the end of all the hard work and time spent.

How did I get out of this? Here’s what I’ve been through to end up with a system to “add more time” to grow:

Do great work and they shall…

--

--

Marilyn Wo
The Startup

3X top writer. Helping freelancers scale their service business without them. Start here -> https://verygoodproductizedguides.substack.com/