Your Morning Routine Can Change Your Life Tomorrow

Dr Jeff Livingston
The Startup
Published in
4 min readJan 9, 2020

--

Thank you, Hal Elrod, for waking me up to a new perspective

Photo by Maks Styazhkin on Unsplash

Snooze button. Snooze button again.

Tired, sluggish, and dreading the day, I drag myself out of bed like a zombie from The Walking Dead. Like many hard-working entrepreneurs, this was my daily morning routine. Two years ago, I stumbled upon a podcast interview with author Hal Elrod in which he shared his incredible story and explained his book The Miracle Morning. His message hit me like a ton of bricks.

We all work so hard to create an amazing life for ourselves, but we never stop and take the time to enjoy the life we have created.

For entrepreneurs, our days are a nonstop sprint of texts, emails, phone calls, and office work. We rarely stop and take time each day to reap the benefits of our hard work. Hal points out that the only safe time is in the morning before we start our day. He emphasizes that we owe it to ourselves to block out this time to experience life without interruptions or distractions. He suggests a morning routine called SAVERS (silence, affirmation, visualization, exercise, reading, and scribing.)

The two-week rule

I have a process for the implementation of new self-improvement ideas I call the two-week rule. When I…

--

--

Dr Jeff Livingston
The Startup

Obgyn, Husband, Father, & Entrepreneur. Writing about Women’s Health, Parenting, and Self-improvement. CEO of MacArthurmc.com & founder of Medika.life