Your Zone of Magic

An alternative look at your zone of genius

Rose Ernst
The Startup
Published in
4 min readSep 21, 2019

--

Photo by Leo Cardelli from Pexels

“Creativity is an energy. It’s a precious energy, and it’s something to be protected. A lot of people take for granted that they’re a creative person, but I know from experience, feeling it in myself, it is a magic; it is an energy. And it can’t be taken for granted.”— Ava DuVernay

I looked at the clock. I did a double-take.

The developmental editing project only took me 60 minutes?

And I’m sure the client will love the results?

Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi calls this Flow:

“The best moments in our lives are not the passive, receptive, relaxing times… The best moments usually occur if a person’s body or mind is stretched to its limits in a voluntary effort to accomplish something difficult and worthwhile.”

The eight characteristics of flow are:

  1. Complete concentration on the task;
  2. Clarity of goals and reward in mind and immediate feedback;

--

--