You’re Not Special and That’s a Good Thing

“Success is when the people you love, actually love you too.” — Warren Buffett

Michael Thompson
The Startup
Published in
6 min readDec 5, 2018

--

The beauty of life is that one conversation can change our world. Two years ago, on a bench in rural France, I had one of those conversations.

I was talking with my brother-in-law, who had just finished a three-year Buddhist retreat, and I asked him how he was able to stay sane while living for such a long period of time in close confines with twenty other men, and his response changed my world.

“The first 90 days was a challenge. However, slowly I felt a shift and I stopped thinking about my personal traits that made me different from the others, and I started thinking about what qualities I had that best connected me to the others.”

I had heard a variation these words a million times before. However, something about the way my brother-in-law carefully crafted them, helped them to finally stick.

Realizing that my life was not best served by focusing on what made me special, but rather how I could make the lives of the people around me more special, was the first step. Actually getting good at it was the next.

I still have a long way to go regarding how to support others to the best of my ability. However, over the…

--

--

Michael Thompson
The Startup

Co-creator of two cool kids • Storytelling Coach •.Fast Co., Insider, Forbes • Free storytelling guide here: https://bit.ly/3h1KZeT