Zero Resistance Creativity

Kevin C. Kuo
The Startup
Published in
6 min readMay 30, 2019

--

Photo by Rakicevic Nenad from Pexels

This is a term I started using recently to describe my creative philosophy. I used to think about creativity in terms of flow, and while I still like this concept I find it’s a bit inaccessible for some. Zero Resistance Creativity is my attempt to find a happy medium. It’s a creative process that I believe anyone can adopt and make work for their unique sensibilities and situation.

Over 130 days ago, I started a daily challenge to work on a fantasy book project that I’ve been thinking about for years. I got a few pages here and there, but I never went deeper with it. Finally, I decided I needed to bite the bullet and start working in earnest. So far, I’ve written over 290,000 words and have averaged over 2,000 words a day throughout this period. If you’re interested in reading more on this challenge, I detail the lessons I’ve learned from this process here.

Screenshot of a pixel art asset I’m working on for our game.

During this time I also started teaching myself guitar, began learning how to compose music and picked up pixel art. All of these skills were developed in order to enable my wife and I to develop our first game together. It was through this intense period of creative productivity that I stumbled upon the idea behind my current creative process and…

--

--

Kevin C. Kuo
The Startup

Husband, Father, Writer. Aspiring indie game developer. Part time trader and FIRE enthusiast: http://tradingtofire.com