Image licensed from Adobe Stock

Learning to Love my Beach Body, a Journey Told Through Swimsuits

Fashion can tell you a lot about a person

Kyrie Gray
Published in
5 min readJun 4, 2024

--

Illustrations by author

The “I’m a baby, and I don’t care what you think” suit

When I was small, I wore adorable swimsuits with large water wings to prevent drowning if I ventured into deep water. And because my parents had complete control of my wardrobe. When we went to the beach, I’d run, feet moving as fast as hummingbird wings from the waves. My beach body back then consisted of rolls of baby fat and unlimited energy, constantly sticky with popsicle juice.

The “I’m learning to swim, not drowning trumps worrying about my jiggly thighs” suit

Eventually, swimming classes were required. Since my parents were not the “throw them in a river and let them learn” sort of folks, I went to the local aquatic center. After proving I could stay afloat, I was allowed to play in the big kid area. This…

--

--