My Obsession with French Style Has Taught Me a Thing or Two

Face it, ladies: we are never going to be as cool as French women. But we can die trying or maybe invade France later.

Adeline Dimond
Sybarite

--

=Photo by Daria Gordova on Unsplash

I want to look chic every day without looking like I tried. I want to look like I care, but not too much. This is an impossible dream, because I am not a French woman. French women have the look-effortlessly-good-every-day thing down and American women just don’t. It’s one of those old tropes that happens to be true.

Before you accuse me of being shallow, remember that people react to you differently when you look good. And by “differently” I mean “better.” If you doubt me, wear a dress and some lipstick the next time you go to the airport. I did this last week, and an actual pilot sat next to me on the flight and talked me through takeoff and landing while I chewed a lot more than the prescribed amount of Xanax. I don’t have proof, but I submit that little pilot chat wouldn’t have happened if I was wearing my usual pajamas-adjacent airplane outfit of leggings and a gray sweatshirt.

Do I wish the world were different and I could wear my hand-me-down velvet Adidas sweats that are a size too large everywhere I go? Yes. I wish this every morning. I also wish that we weren’t sliding into a dystopian

--

--