The Newsletter Thingy

The Sybarite Newsletter: Sorry For the Delay, I Was Busy Getting Red-Pilled

Adeline Dimond
Sybarite
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readNov 10, 2023

--

Inkstand with a madman distilling his brains, ca 1600, Italian | Metropolitan Museum of Art, Open Access Program

I owe all you Sybarites a newsletter, but haven’t been able to manage it because I’ve spent every day since October 7, 2023 getting increasingly red-pilled. I tried to write about my conversion for this newsletter, but came off sounding combative and insane. And while combative insanity is perhaps what this moment calls for, I put that draft away for another time after I read it to a friend who simply said “uh oh,” when I was done.

So we’ll stick to Sybarite news for now, although there’s not much to say. I published this piece about how Red Lobster comforted me after I pulled the plug on my dad. But other than that, there’s nothing new. I continue to reject a lot of submissions. We have a few new writers who are willing to subject themselves to the the editing process, so look for their stories at some point in the future.

I say “at some point,” because I’ve finally decided that if Sybarite only publishes one story a year, so be it. We’re about quality over here, not dreck, not feeding the algorithm.

In the meantime, please check out these two incredible pieces on Gaza, one from 2001 and one from 2006 from Stephen Elliott.

If you want to spend your one wild and precious life reading unlimited Medium articles, you can sign up here.

If you want to submit to Sybarite, here are some tips.

--

--