Top Five Things Every Mom Says

Sydney Williams
Sydney’s Online Portfolio
2 min readNov 25, 2019
My mom getting annoyed on a family vacation
  1. “Put it back”

As a child we have all experienced the embarrassment of having your mom yell at you in the grocery store. You would go and pick out something you want and excited about until your mom informs you to put the limited edition Polly Pocket fruit snacks back.

2. “Do you think money grows on trees”

I will admit as a teenager I did not understand that there isn’t a limited supply of money. Now as college student you definitely understand that money does not grow on trees.

3. “Is that what you’re wearing”

My mom, like many moms, was all about looking presentable when we went out. Sometimes you just wanted to wear your gross green shirt with your bright yellow pants or your Justin Bieber shirt with your short shorts, but mom ALWAYS disagreed with your outfit of choice.

4. “When I was a teenager…”

This was followed by some ridiculous childhood story like “I never cared about boys and makeup” or “My mom made me wake up at 5am to feed the chickens”. Yeah riiiight mom. Then you later find out from your grandma that they never had chickens.

5. “One day you will thank me for this”

This phrase is always said when you are upset because your mom is not letting you do something or is making you do something you don’t want to do. In the end she was always right, and that’s why we love them.

--

--