Wildlife Friendly Gardens

Gemma Burgham
Sydney Gardens Bath
4 min readMay 11, 2020

Written by Mali Kedward, our Horticultural Participation Officer.

The Sydney Gardens Project aims to increase biodiversity in the park, and one of the ways we plan to do this is by introducing more pollinator friendly plants. Cherry Laurel predominates in the shrub areas, and whilst it provides some useful all year-round greenery it does little to support wildlife and very few invertebrates can actually eat it. Pollinator numbers, including butterflies, are in decline and we have a duty to create more insect friendly environments. Over the next year or two we will be increasing the diversity in the planting around the park and, as a result, attract more wildlife.

Bumblebee and Lacy Phacelia in the wildflower bed next to the Bathwick Street entrance.
Bumblebee and Lacy Phacelia in the wildflower bed next to the Bathwick Street entrance.

If you are a regular visitor to the park you may have noticed some lovingly tended beds at the top of the park near the Loggia and tennis courts. These are the result of a lot of hard work and care from the Friends of Sydney Gardens. They meet every second Sunday of the month 10:00 am –12:00 pm and welcome new members (when not in lockdown of course!). In the height of summer last year I noticed pollinators flocking to their Nepeta (Catmint), Scabious, Rosemary and Lavender plants. At the moment the bed underneath the Gingko Tree is alive with Alliums and Geums. We would like to see more buzzing happening throughout the gardens.

Being in lockdown has really made me focus on my own immediate environment, predominantly my garden in the last month or so. One of the main things I would like to achieve with my garden is to make it more wildlife friendly. I’ve been making gradual changes over the last three years but this month I have had a lot more time than normal to focus my attention on my garden and really evaluate the possibilities.

Aliums underneath the Ginkgo tree.
Aliums underneath the Ginkgo tree.

A great place to start is to look at what is already growing well in your garden and build on that. I like to see what ‘native’ plants (some might call them weeds) are already growing, and research what invertebrates rely on them. When I found any plants that I couldn’t identify I used the INaturalist app to help me. It’s such a useful tool, and if the app can’t help you identify your wildlife, it will flag it up to the online community who most certainly will.

One of the plants I discovered was a Common dog-violet growing under a rose bush. I learned from the Wildlife Trust website that Common dog-violets are important for several Fritillary butterflies who lay their eggs on the plant. This reminded me that I saw quite a few dog-violets growing in Sydney Gardens when working with the Sydney Gardening volunteers in March. I will definitely be keeping my eye out for any Fritillaries in the summer and would be very interested to hear from anyone who spots any interesting wildlife in Sydney Gardens.

To add to my garden borders at home, I’m growing Calendula, Ammi Majus, Verbena Bonariensis, Scabious, Cornflowers, Thyme and lots more pollinator-friendly plants from seeds this year. For the caterpillars I’m growing Nasturtiums, Hops and Ivy.

Hops growing up an old gate in my garden.
Hops growing up an old gate in my garden.

If you want to attract butterflies it’s important to think about what food the caterpillars will eat. Most are notoriously fussy and may only eat one or two types of plants. Nettles are a great example of a food very popular with caterpillars and are loved by many including Red Admiral, Comma and Peacock caterpillars. I have left a patch this year in my allotment in the hope to attract some butterflies.

You don’t need a garden or allotment to attract wildlife, it’s amazing what you can grow in a small container on your outside windowsill. At home I’ve been making a miniature butterfly garden using an old window box. I planted it with a Nasturtium, Cornflowers and Chives. Cornflowers and Nasturtium seeds are inexpensive and grow quickly and you can even plant Chives or herbs from plants you find in the supermarket.

Here is some really useful information about making your gardens more pollinator friendly:

https://www.wildaboutgardens.org.uk/

https://www.wildlifetrusts.org/actions/how-create-container-garden-wildlife

https://www.thebuzzclub.uk/

--

--