Get to know: John Carlo San Pedro

Anabela Rea
3 min readOct 12, 2018

--

This Senior Engineer for Sylo makes a mean pork adobo and knows how to get down on the dancefloor… Meet John :)

What do you love the most about your job?

Every day you get an opportunity to learn something new.

How would you describe the culture here at Sylo?

Relaxed and comfortable, but with a high expectation to get things done.

What do you think DApps have to offer the world?

Decentralization frees society from the need to rely and have faith in
overarching organizations, which may or may not be trustworthy.

What development for Sylo are you most proud of so far?

My contributions to the rewrite of our end-to-end encryption library.

The work resulted in major improvements to the library’s reliability, and the project was my first exposure to functional programming.

Which as a programming paradigm, challenged my existing knowledge of software development, and required significant effort from my end to learn.

Where’s your hometown and what’s it like?

My hometown is on a small island within the Philippines.

The place could be considered rural, though the people there are quite lively, and there exists a strong sense of community.

What book should every person read?

William Golding’s Lord of the Flies

If you had to eat the same food every day for a year, what would it be?

I could never turn down a good burger.

What would you be doing if you weren’t working at Sylo?

I think if I hadn’t taken a career in software development, I would still be
some kind of engineer.

Both my parents came to New Zealand as civil engineers, and I’ve always enjoyed tasks that required logic and problem solving.

Share a secret talent…

Always have a couple go-to moves to bust out on the dance floor…

Describe your perfect day off.

Meeting up for coffee with a close friend, and talking the day away.

Fill in the blank: ‘If you really knew me, you’d know_____.’

I love listening to music and I’m always down for a good concert

Tune in next week to meet another member of the Sylo team!

Got questions you want answered?

Join the conversation with us now on Telegram, we’re only a click away…

--

--

Anabela Rea

High Priestess of Lore / Head of Content & PR at the Seekers & Sylo