Get to know: Neil Morrell

Anabela Rea
3 min readSep 20, 2018

--

Sylo’s Partnership Manager has a keen sense of humour and an appreciation for fine scotch. Introducing, Neil..

Where had your career taken you before joining Sylo?

Previous to Sylo, my experience has been in sales and account management. I ran a direct sales company for seven years before working with DHL Express in logistics. Safe to say I am a people person.

What first interested you in the tech industry?

I love the idea of changing the world. Tech is such an integral part of our lives now and if we can change the way tech is used currently to help people in their everyday life, then sign me up for that.

Tell us your ‘big win’; what are you most excited to achieve here?

I can’t wait for the day my friends back in Scotland are using Sylo. At the moment we have a group chat which we post in on most days, however I feel like if my friends (joiners, plumbers, tilers, etc.) are using Sylo, it will feel like an accomplishment.

What are the three activities most key to your job?

My role as the Partnerships Manager here at Sylo is to bring people together, keep open lines of communication with existing partnerships and help to plan for future business development.

What’s something you’ve learned since coming on board with Sylo?

Since joining the Sylo team I have learned that just because things are done a certain way, it doesn’t make them right. Working with the team has shown me that with a group of likeminded, motivated people, you can change the world!

Where’s your hometown and what’s it like?

I was born in a small town in Scotland called Penicuik (pronounced Penny-cook). It has a population of around 16,000 so everyone knows everyone. I loved it there however Auckland is my home now.

Neil, he’s got ‘the gift of the gab’ but he’s not one for pictures.

What book should every person read?

Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh. It’s not for everyone but if you can understand it, it’s a great read. Disclaimer — not all of Scotland is like the book!

If you had to eat the same food every day for a year, what would it be?

I would have to say I would eat Ramen daily, I think a year might be a stretch, however I would give it a good crack.

What would you be doing if you weren’t working at Sylo?

I would love to be a movie critic. The idea of getting paid to watch a movie and pass on judgment sounds awesome.

Share a secret talent…

I’m a pretty good whistler, I do it without realising which can annoy people around me but hey, I’m pretty good at it.

Describe your perfect day off.

Early round of golf with the boys, yum char with my family for lunch, take my daughter swimming, then a chilled night at home watching a movie… bliss.

Fill in the blank: ‘If you really knew me, you’d know…’

…how I drink my whisky.

Tune in next week to meet another member of the Sylo team!

Join the conversation with us now on Telegram, we’re only a click away…

--

--

Anabela Rea

High Priestess of Lore / Head of Content & PR at the Seekers & Sylo