What is a Plot Bunny and How to Slay Your Creative Ideas

Sylvie Soul
Sylvie Soul Writing
4 min readJan 16, 2021

--

Photo of a bunny rabbit. Animal photo created by pereslavtseva — www.freepik.com

For the FREE version of this post, visit my website https://sylviesoul.com/what-is-a-plot-bunny-how-to-slay-your-creative-ideas/

It took me ten years to write Sailor Helga.

I used to write Hey Arnold! fanfiction. By the time I retired in 2018, I had written over a dozen stories about that fictional kid with the football-shaped head.

One story in particular took much longer to write than the others. It was a crazy crossover idea marrying my two favourite shows at the time: Hey Arnold! and Sailor Moon. Thus Sailor Helga was born.

The story was conceived in 1999, but I didn’t hit publish on the final chapter until 2011. (This is a story I’ve recounted on more than one occasion; if you care to read about my frame of mind at the time, refer to this blog post.)

But I wanted to zero in on the state of the story before I got it in on the page. For years, it hopped around in my head, nagging me, popping up at inopportune times while I was at work or was trying to accomplish some other pressing task that needed my focus.

For the longest time, I was afflicted with a bad case of a roaming plot bunny.

What is a Plot Bunny?

--

--

Sylvie Soul
Sylvie Soul Writing

She/her. Former fanfiction writer turned published author, providing insight for the aspiring writer. Buy Me a Coffee https://ko-fi.com/X8X8IB92