Creator Spotlight: Obbly Q&A

HyperSpace
Synereo
Published in
3 min readMay 30, 2018

With content creation at the epicenter of everything we do, we’re pleased to introduce the first blog post in our series, “Creator Spotlight,” featuring the talent that makes up the verified WildSpark Creator community. Today we’re happy to welcome WildSpark Creator Obbly into the Spotlight.

Synereo: So, Obbly, please tell us a little about yourself.

Obbly: Hi my name is Oliver (Oli for short). I’m 22 years old and from the South of England. My hobbies include travel, rock climbing, guitar, cooking (poorly), and being a bit of a nerd.

Synereo: How did you come to be a content creator?

Obbly: I’ve always liked the idea of being an internet content creator. A decade ago my mind was blown when people first started getting paid on YouTube — people being paid actual real life MONEY for doing little vlogs, animations, etc. I tried a couple of times to set up a YouTube channel, but they failed for various reasons, be it lack of support or just life getting in the way. However, with the release of Wildspark, I found an opportunity to experiment again and to get in on the ground floor with this amazing platform.

Synereo: Tell us about a little about what your content focuses on.

Obbly: Recently I’ve been doing a series that highlights Creators and active members of the community (similar to what you’re doing here, but a little different). I call it the ‘WildSpark Community Spotlight.’ I suppose you could say I’m more of a Curator, but people seem to appreciate the service and I’ve been tipped a nice amount of AMPs because of it. I released a new one for the month of May. If anyone would like to be featured, please let me know. Here is a Wildspark link to my last community spotlight.

Synereo: Nice work Obbly! What is your go-to medium these days and why?

Obbly: At the moment my go-to medium is ‘Medium!’ It’s just so easy to publish an article and then instantly start monetizing that work through WildSpark. I’m looking forward to new platforms being added, so I can experiment with them as well.

Synereo: Do you see changes in the way people are starting to create and consume content online and on social media?

Obbly: Over a relatively short amount of time, the gap between content Creator and consumer has shrunk dramatically. As I mentioned earlier, a big factor in closing this gap has been websites such as YouTube, where Creators can have meaningful dialogues with their consumers. Now with the advent of new technologies and monetization methods, people can make a decent amount of money from even a small pool of patrons with no middle-men.

Synereo: How did you learn about WildSpark and what do you like most about it?

Obbly: Realizing the unsettling amount of power centralized hubs and services have, I went looking for a decentralized alternative. Synereo seemed the most promising. WildSpark isn’t fully decentralized at the moment, but I understand why the team made that decision. As well as being the best way to monetize works on Youtube/Medium/Imgur, WildSpark has been a great content discovery app! I also like it because I believe the devs are sincere and that they have demonstrated they’re in this for the long haul.

Synereo: What feature would you like to see added to the WildSpark platform?

Obbly: User and content profiles showing all amplifications and comments; with lots of juicy statistics and meta-data along with a really good search function please!

Synereo: Thanks Obbly for taking the time to answer some of our questions and for letting the community get to know you better! Any parting things to share?

Obbly: First, you’re very welcome and thank you for the opportunity. Second, I encourage readers to come and join the Discord community — it’s quite active. There is even a separate channel Creators can join. Also, feel free to follow me on Twitter.

***

If you would like to be our next Featured WildSpark Creator, please email us at hello@synereo.com, with subject line “Feature me!”

DON’T MISS OUT ON SYNEREO’S LATEST UPDATES!

Join us on Discord

Join us on Telegram

--

--