I want to scream at my generation and I want to give them a hug

Bryony Albery
Systems Changers
Published in
8 min readJan 8, 2017
https://www.etsy.com/listing/263357335/coffee-because-adulting-is-hard-16oz

Millenialism is a term that is defining and refining itself constantly. It is only as we slowly grow up that its possible to see what has shaped us as a generation. And even then it is only really by looking at our reflection in the faces of those that have gone before us that we can begin to figure out who we are. It is only once you start to see yourself properly that you can begin to shape yourself. So we are in a complex place of compare and contrast with our parent’s generation.

Its difficult. But I want my people to know that the world is ours.

It is there for the making. We have what it takes to shape it and create in it.

At the moment we create little kingdoms inside social media with followers and likes. We feel we are winning or loved by a click or a like. I used to see that in ‘them’, but 2 years into my smart phone and the Facebook App, I can see it in myself too. Tough times at work are now punctuated by the flicker of my phone. Social media is the go to when adulting is hard.

But it is an incredible thing with huge potential. We have achieved so much through it. Everything from business start ups to long distance relationships are built through the use of social media. Those are real, tangible things that make the world a better place and matter.

But we are also addicted to social media. We know we are but we think of it as addiction with a lower case ‘a’. In my mind its like tobacco was before we understood its health implications. The thing about social media is that its consequences are so nebulous. We will not reach our middle ages and all get hit by some awful cancer brought about by social media. Rather I suspect very subtle and slow things will emerge, things that are nigh on impossible to measure, like social anxiety, other mental health issues and the quality of our dearest relationships.

What about the kingdoms we could be building in the real world? I do not doubt that millenials get out the house or even go to the mountains. I know we inhabit the coffee shops at least. We can be found in art galleries and museums, in shoe shops and offices. The evidence of all of this can all be found in social media. There are so many cups of coffee photographed in such lovely places by millennials.

But what I want to shout about is that we struggle so much to engage with the political, and right now this is dangerous. The result will be seen not in 20, or 30 years, but within the next 5–10. Policies are being shaped right now that we need to have an impact on. We need to care for our mental health and relationships, but look at Brexit, look at Trump. Look at the great cravasses that seemed to open up between different groups in our societies almost over night in the light of the two votes. We have seen the impact that the media is having on our society, our politics. And while it all takes place on TV, this stuff is real but we have no idea how to interact with it.

To be political is to rant, share, comment on social media. To be in politics is to seek a career.

The perception is that if you want to have a real impact and shape the political climate (impact being the laudable aspiration of many millenials) you have to get into politics early with PEE at Oxbridge and the right family connections. Start climbing that ladder, and be willing to sell your soul if you want to reach the top.

But no one in their right mind would. We view the politicians on TV as polished, incompetent, sell outs, or all three. And we don’t want to get involved because we don’t want that for ourselves. We see this shit storm brewing on TV but see no way of getting involved IRL.

I tried a few times as a teenager to write to my MP about different issues. I got photocopied pages back in response. It was a pile of preprepared party political arguments. I died inside. What do you do then? I don’t and didn’t have the time or the nous to argue with these career politicians with a pile of experts waiting in the wings. Even if I did what do they care what I think? I clearly didn’t vote for them in the first place. And speaking as a resident of a strongly and reliably conservative area, why would they give a shit if I threaten to with hold my vote in future elections?

What do we do then, join a political party and canvas? I refer you to the above. Polished, incompetent, sell outs at best. Its widely accepted that at the top of the pile are people who are swayed by their own personal or corporate interests. Read Private Eye, watch Have I Got News For You. No, actually just read news articles about the post Brexit power struggles of the Conservative and Labour parties that embarrassed our nation at the moment we were most in need of strong leadership. I don’t want to give my time or money to an organisation like that.

At this point, on the brink of giving up, I think of Mhairi Black. She is one of the few figures I think I genuinely respect in the House of Commons. She made me cry into my Frosties when I watched her give her maiden speech in the House of Commons. Now, I have worked with homeless people for a few years and before that I did voluntary work in South Africa. My emotions are real but they are not bubbling away at the surface ready for anyone with a sob story to access. I’d be crap at my job otherwise. Furthermore, I refer you to my general disdain and trust for politicians, they are the last people I permit to make a dent in the armour I put on for work.

And yet there I was, at 7:15 a few months ago, clutching my Frosties in one hand, my phone in the other, quietly whiping tears away because I was seeing someone of my generation standing up in Parliament expressing exactly what it was I think and feel.

Whether you like what she says or not, feeling represented was inspiring. It made me feel connected and it gave me hope. And being connected and having hope is the first step towards building our future.

We know that the echo chamber of our social media accounts and the press is just reinforcing the us-and-them mentality. Cynicism is just reinforcing our perception that anyone who votes differently from us is either a racist or a clueless idealist. So we need to optimistically connect with people who don’t agree with us. Not so we can start a Twitter battle, but so that we can better understand each other. We need ways of engaging in discussion without feeding the trolls, and where people with different opinions are not flamed. We need to find/create/nurture social media environments that are geared for meaningful political conversation. Shouting our opinions at yes men is not working anymore.

As well as this we need to mobilise.

Our generations views are not really represented in the political theatre in London because they don’t see us as movers and shakers. To them we are the political apathetic and this too needs to stop.

So here comes the giant cosy hug I want to give the lot of you ….

What we have to say matters and we can make them listen.

Millenials understand social media. We know how to tell stories. We want to make a difference. We want to make an impact. We know the internet, lets use it to organise. We are great at flash mobs. We are fantastic at creativity. Lets use it to disrupt their profits or their parties or whatever the hell seems sensible to you and your mates given what is at risk.

Do you want inspiration? Look at those that have gone before. There are loads of examples of non-violent protest out there. Google it and drink it up. Digest it, then invest in it. Lets redesign political action for our generation. Tell us about it so we can turn up and join in. Do something risky you’d be proud to tell your grandkids.

The worst that can happen is you fail.

And then we try again.

Because that is one of the tragedies of millenialism. We are scared of failure. Again, social media helps us believe that no one fails because we don’t share the stuff that makes us feel bad about ourselves. So here is the key, and the next big hug or reassurance I want to give my peers:

Failure is an option, and it isn’t a bad one.

One of my favourite phrases right now is “Maximum Effort” which comes from the great, esteemed, and horrifically inappropriate Deadpool. I love that in a whole bunch of really obscure ways Deadpool acts with maximum effort. It was my take home from that movie.

Give it what you’ve got, or even all you’ve got. If it doesn’t work, have a little cry if you need to, then reflect, critique, learn and move on. Reapply your Maximum Effort. It is the best way to be successful. Failure is a part of getting it right.

So think about what what annoys you about the world you live in. Speak to people who agree with you and those who disagree. Think about who has the power to change it. What would put the pressure on? What could you get crowd funded? Lets approach activism with a sense of humour. What would be awkward for the people in charge if it went viral?

Lets draw attention to the fact that we can barely get employed, most of us have no hope of buying a house, that our NHS/social security system is falling apart around our ears, and that corporations are running away with our tax money. We do not have to accept that these things are set in stone by the political elite in back room deals with corporations.

And so finally, when the revolution comes it will not be televised. It will come as a facebook event invite from a mate. It will come as lively conversation among new and old friends in pubs. It will be artwork displayed in new and creative ways. It will be flash mobs. It will be unexpected beautiful acts. It will go viral. It will have a beautiful graphically designed logo. It will have a witty, but compassionate Twitter account. It will be subversive. It will be fresh. It will look nothing like what has come before.

It will be ours.

--

--

Bryony Albery
Systems Changers

Homelessness Support worker wants to create meaningful change for clients. Also climbs things.