Today, I was asked to write a blog ……

Cath Stamper
Systems Changers
Published in
4 min readNov 7, 2016

So I have

Today I have been at the Systems Changers programme in London and whilst talking about change within my organisation, one of the other attendees suggested I write a blog about the progress I’ve made regarding volunteers. Here it is…

For a bit of context, I am not a fan of volunteers. Don’t get me wrong, I think they are fab in charity shops or shaking a collection box on the street or baking cakes but working in a sometimes chaotic homeless charity, they are the last thing I need. I have always viewed volunteers as harder work than the clients, often needing lots of reassurance and guidance. They stand in the way, looking lost and slightly scared with no real purpose.

One such person is Bob (not his real name). Bob is an ex-client and he makes me look good as I can say I have former clients as volunteers. This ticks boxes and it demonstrates that we are truly an inclusive organisation.

But it was all a facade. Bob wasn’t valued as a member of the team. He was a token gesture and I feel horrible about it now. This acknowledgement is not some eureka moment; instead it has been the slow drip by drip effect the Systems Changers programme is having on me. To be truly ground breaking and to make lasting change, I need people with passion and drive around me. I hadn’t considered that Bob had the passion and drive I was looking for, I guess I was stuck in the belief that only ‘professionals’ can do the job properly.

Anyway, Bob had been coming in for several months and to be honest, we were treating him no better than a glorified slave. He was there to make the tea, empty the bins and generally get in the way. How must he have felt? I am horrified by the total disrespect I showed for another human being.

As a former rough sleeper, Bob is in the best position to understand what it is like to be homeless. He can empathise and support, he can talk honestly to others about the journey he has been on and the mountains he has overcome.

Not only that; Bob is ex-forces, was married, has children and has had a life just like me (apart from the army bit!). Bob has a skill set that I envy. He is organised, motivated, helpful and enthusiastic. All Bob needed was training and time.

This meant a radical shift in our thinking. As a team, we had to stop just saying we believe in our client’s ability to change and instead we had to feel and live it.

The first change was to add Bob to the rota and give him time to read our procedures, shadow others and learn what was expected of him as a team member. He got an ID badge and a role description. He was trusted with confidential information and included in team meetings and decision making. He was treated like a human being.

After a week or two, I could see him growing as a person. His confidence rose as he realised his ideas would be listened to and he was trusted. He started helping in the advice sessions and the clients appreciated the time he gave them. My fears about blurred boundaries or clients hassling him were clearly unfounded.

As he grew, I relaxed. Maybe this could work after all. Bob was bringing aspects to the organisation that weren’t present before. His perspective was enlightening and I began to feel that we were an inclusive service — the tick box exercise had become a working reality.

After a month, I could see he had more to give. When I arrived at work at 7.30am, he was always there waiting for the doors to open. I hardly had time to take off my coat before he was getting ready for the first of the rough sleepers to arrive. Toaster out, shower ready and heating on. Bob knew what was needed to help them feel they mattered.

Why then, if he was so tuned in to the needs of others, was I keeping him at arm’s length? He was doing everything that an employed project worker would be expected to do but he still didn’t have keys. I admit my reluctance was based on the fear that something could go wrong. What an illogical thought; Bob posed no greater risk than anyone else and my actions were bordering on discrimination.

After some soul searching and discussions with the wider team, it was time to face my fears by giving him keys. I no longer wanted to pay lip service to the idea of volunteers and this act of trust would hopefully demonstrate that we are willing to challenge the way we work and to make changes.

As for Bob? He is fully established as a regular member of the team. He is treated like everyone else; he is valued for his skills and is held accountable for his actions — he seems to appreciate this. His confidence has continued to increase and he is taking on more responsibility. His current plan is to update the volunteer pack and be responsible for the recruitment of more people just like him.

--

--