IT Pro Tuesday #4

Graham O'Reilly
Systems & Adventures
3 min readJun 11, 2018

Clean, Techgenix, WireShark & More

Get this weekly in your inbox.

Hello IT Pro,

Here’s your weekly helping of handy tools and information. As always we have no affiliation with any of these unless we explicitly state otherwise.

A quick note/request before we get into it.

I’m lucky enough to run EveryCloud, which is an email Security company and the highest rated on Spiceworks because we obsess over service and detection. If you’re considering a different spam filter for your organization please check out our 250+ five star reviews and:

Start a Free 30 Day Trial

If you decide to leave your existing contract early, we’ll give you the period you lose for free. Ok, let’s crack on…

A free tool I use

Clean I use this on my Mac to automatically move my desktop files into monthly folders each day. It saves a load of time because I just save all files to my desktop and they’re then processed later that day. I appreciate a lot of people will want windows equivalent but I can’t find anything, so please leave comments.

An IT Pro Quote

“Give a person a fish and you feed them for a day; teach that person to use the Internet and they won’t bother you for weeks.” An Unknown SysAdmin.

A tutorial we’ve been recommended

Techgenix. Azure, Powershell, Active Directory Tutorials and more. Tons to learn.

A Windows Tip (to make up for the Mac tool)

Windows Key + directional arrows will move and resize windows

I.E. Windows Key + Up will maximize the window, windows key + left will snap it to the left of the screen and make it full height, WK + right will do the same but on the right side of the screen, WK + down will minimize the window.

A website we rely on

KrebsOnSecurity I’ve had the pleasure of talking with Brian but even prior to this I was a fan of his honest, clear and informative site. It’s a source I trust for all things security.

Have great week!

Graham | CEO | EveryCloud

P.S. Another Free Tool

WireShark is a free sysadmin tool that captures packets and breaks them down into protocol headers and content. It lets you see everything that is happening on your network at a microscopic level.

--

--

Graham O'Reilly
Systems & Adventures

Co-Founder and CEO at EveryCloud. Remote working, life loving, optimistic human.