GSoC Diaries #3 — Coding Phase Week 1

Anumeha Agrawal
Systers Open Source
2 min readMay 21, 2018

The GSoC coding Phase began on 14th and our first PR’s were due on 17th May . Quite hectic right ? Coding Phase is when the real challenge starts . Here you actually write lines of codes which will be used by the world and are no more limited to prototyping and designing . It’s the execution time !

This week I had to set up the repository with angular files . The communities repository shifted its Jekyll codebase to Angular boilerplate and I had to set up all the necessary files for the same . I decided to use the latest version of Angular with Bootstrap Material design . I followed the angular.io documentation to ensure uniformity ans cross platform accessibility . The files looked something like this .

My second PR was the header and footer implementation . For this I used the Caribbean blue color according to AnitaB.Org brand . The design was in accordance with my mock ups . The best part about angular is that it focuses on component based development . This means that the header and footer will not have to be replicated for every single page that I would create .

It was quite a unique experience for me and I and excited about combating the challenges which are going to come my way in the future . The 9:30pm IST deadline builds up quite some pressure but this gives an insight to the real production world .

Stay tuned for my next blog !

--

--

Anumeha Agrawal
Systers Open Source

I am a programming enthusiast with an urge to learn and discover new things related to computer science.