My first internship experience — one month internship at SZOIL

戴玺
SZOIL
Published in
3 min readDec 31, 2019

At the beginning of December 2019, I received an email from CRCC Asia telling me that I was arranged to work in a Shenzhen company called SZOIL for a one-month internship. I like the city of Shenzhen because it is more inclusive. Young people from all walks of life come and go in this city and work hard for their lives.

December 12 was the first day of my internship in Shenzhen. I found the company’s location two days in advance. The company is located in the Futian Free Trade Zone in Shenzhen, which is still a certain distance from the city center. I found SZOIL according to the address given in the previous email. A mentor named Chen from the company received me. I learned that SZOIL was established by Maker Colider and SIDA, is a space and platform for worldwide makers to communicate and cooperate. SZOIL is also the first Fab Lab in Shenzhen authorized by MIT CBA as a research and development partner of Fab Lab 2.0 .

The purpose of this laboratory was to guide international makers and Shenzhen to innovate together. So on a Saturday, December 14, we held a special maker workshop in the multi-functional room on the first floor of Shenzhen Baoan Library. We set up a Fab Lab in Maker Workshop in the room, equipped with various tools, equipment, and materials, was open to all maker fans, including general public and students from all grades. In this workshop I saw a lot of younger children, they used a piece of wood, a circuit, and a light bulb to assemble into a delicate little lantern according to the assembly instructions. I was really happy for them when they saw that they had assembled successfully through their own efforts, with happy smiles on their faces.

Just last Sunday, a group of visiting groups from Singapore came to visit our company SZOIL. We first received them downstairs and introduced them to our company in an exhibition room on the second floor. There are some photos in the exhibition room. The photos are once a visiting group from different countries took a group photo at the gate of the company after each visit to the technology products. We introduced them one by one, and they were also interested in some of our innovative businesses.

Next, we took them to the 5th floor, which is the main office of the company. My supervisor Vicky made slides for them, and then gave them a detailed introduction to the company’s main operating process and some details about the company’s industrial chain. I was stood aside and listening very carefully, and also learned a lot about the company’s business.

Finally, I led them to take a group photo at the gate of the company and took a group photo. I think this kind of activity is very meaningful because I can exercise my oral English, and be familiar with some specific business processes of our company.

During the normal internship process, I was responsible for helping our supervisor. Sometimes I need to make excel forms, make slides and documents. The overall internship process is easy, and the colleagues in the office get along well. I am very fortunate and grateful to CRCC for giving me the opportunity to train and train myself. In this very short day of the month, I learned a lot of things I could not learn in school, and some social experience. These results will be of great help in my future work.

--

--