My Internship At SZOIL

Dikshan Kharel
SZOIL
Published in
5 min readSep 25, 2017

Being in china and doing my bachelors was already a plus point for my future career. And I got this great opportunity to do my internship for like 3 months in SZOIL (Shenzhen Open Innovation Lab) is definitely a turning point in my life.

I, the senior student at Beihang University, am Engineering Student majoring in Electronics and Information is so excited for his working career. Apart from going and taking class every day in College, I always wished to have some sort of working experience in my career. This all happened to be true when I applied to SZOIL and got selected to intern there. I have been living in Beijing for almost three years and heard so much about Shenzhen (future silicon valley) but never been there before so it was my good learning experience about the environment in Shenzhen and working there.

I got this opportunity in SZOIL mainly because of my interest in entrepreneurship and was also for my passion to experience the working environment since I never worked for anyone except my teachers before. I consider myself very lucky to have had this opportunity, because I got so much value out of my time here.

I vividly remember the time when I first arrived in SZOIL. The place was really filled with a lot of electronics stuffs like 3D printer, CNC machines, big Laser cutter and many other small and big instruments. The staff members working there were so kind and helpful. There were already other interns working so I felt much relax and became friends with them in short time. Everyone working there as an intern were so talented and ready to help others if required.

I quickly adapted to the working environment inside the lab. In the first few days, I learned about all the minor and major projects SZOIL was part of and made myself clear which project would be beneficial for my entrepreneurship career.

HuaQiangBei Street

The first place where i visited undoubtedly was HuaQiangBei(HBQ) Street. Being an Electronics majored student seeing those electronics things and cool gadgets in HQB, i felt it like a paradise. I was amazed to see all the electronics things from small to huge were located at the same place and it was so cheap and affordable to buy as well. Then i realized i came to the right place :)

Time passes so quick, i engaged in different projects conducted by SZOIL. High school students were there to learn so many open source hardware and software like Arduino, Raspberry Pi, ROV, 3D Design etc. taught by experienced mentors. I was there most of the time to help the students to learn the things in right and fast way since i had those experience before in my University.

High school students making car using Arduino and also making ROV

Then SZOIL had many other big projects coming up. I tried to get engaged in those events most of the time. The recent event conducted by SZOIL as an organizer was National mass innovation and Entrepreneurship Week in Shenzhen innovation and convention center. This event was really worth visiting since there were so many other companies who were exhibiting their cool products and innovation to the mass.

National Mass innovation and Entrepreneurship week held in Shenzhen innovation and convention center

Another main event organized by SZOIL which helped me to make many new connections was One belt One road. With this event, i met different guest speakers from different countries who were doing lots of activities and good things for their respective countries and even helping others. I had wonderful time with them and maker movement and learned a lot of new things going inside Africa, South America and Europe particularly.

Guest speakers talking about maker movement in “One belt one Road’ event

Beside all this events and projects, Shenzhen was really good to me. The people and environment there was really worth visiting. Interning at SZOIL for around three months helped me a lot to be a responsible and good human being. The time with my colleagues and communication with other interns from different countries like US, UK, Ghana, Spain, Ireland, Sri Lanka, Taiwan was amazing. I had an amazing time in SZOIL, cherishing all the memories and knowledge I gained from my internship in Shenzhen.

I am back to my University life again to start my senior year with different perspective on entrepreneurship based on the people i met, had conversation with and my whole experience interning at SZOIL.

This was just a beginning of my working career and my start is already a superb one. I would definitely maintain this momentum and keep working hard to reach my goal.

--

--