All set to begin the second innings of your career post a break, here’s what you should know

VMInclusion Taara
Taara in You
Published in
3 min readJan 25, 2022

--

Becoming a mother is a life-altering experience and brings with it so many joys but also several challenges, especially for those who need to bring their career to a halt. But to restart a career after a break can be an uphill battle. The road to financial independence gets easier with upskilling especially if you are looking to be a part of the technology industry. Meet Sagarika Sahoo, who restarted her journey in technology by upskilling with VMware’s VMinclusion Taara after a career break of two and a half years.

Once motherhood came knocking, I joyfully embraced it and devoted all my time to my newborn, my baby got all my attention. Parenting is a huge responsibility and requires you to make several sacrifices, and it can get intimidating. I quit my thriving career to look after my child. I was working in the technology industry and had recently got promoted with an onsite opportunity. I was excited to see my career finally take off, but things turned out differently and my child needed me more.

Leaving my job behind was hard for two and a half years, I was a stay-at-home mom with no time or energy to stay updated with the changes in the technology field. I could not help thinking about restarting my career again. however, since I had been out of work for a couple of years, I was almost convinced that I’d have to spend years to find a job. In the technology industry, a few years of being out of the industry makes one close to irrelevant as the pace is very rapid. What was relevant then is obsolete now. This and the fact that I didn’t have any other potential opportunities lined up, made me worry. I knew I wanted to get back to work, I took a leap of faith and decided to start looking out for jobs. Initially, when I applied for jobs, many employers saw my career break as a reason, not to hire me. It was disappointing as there were only a few employers who were willing to look beyond my career gap. I remember I’d often sit down in front of my laptop feeling overwhelmed, now knowing where to start. It felt like a lone battle, especially when you have no guide or support to lead the way. I needed direction and guidance more than anything, I needed assurance and confidence. With the pandemic upending the market, I felt my chances of getting employed were getting dimmer by the day. I was determined to regain my financial independence and confidence. I wanted to be a working woman.

One day, my husband told me about VMware’s VMinclusion Taara program, and I realized this was the silver lining that I was looking for. This was my opportunity to brush up on my tech skills. I loved the fact that the courses were very comprehensive and were focused on the latest digital technologies. And since it was online and self-paced, I could plan my study schedule as per my convenience. One of the best things was that it helped me connect with other women like me through the social group, which kept me motivated. I wasn’t alone! I realized I just needed a little push and, upskilling with VMware’s VMinclusion Taara helped me garner new-age technology skills that were in demand. The course boosted my confidence and made me more determined than ever to rejoin the workforce.

Today, I am proud to say that I am back to work with a leading technology multinational organization. I am so thankful to VMware’s VMinclusion Taara program for upskilling me in new-age technologies and giving me the confidence to believe in myself. The program is making a real difference in the lives of women who are looking to restart their careers. I’m forever indebted to Taara for helping me regain my confidence and financial independence.

--

--

VMInclusion Taara
Taara in You

VMinclusion-Taara in partnership with Women Who Code aims to help women on a career break rejoin the workforce by training them in advanced technologies