Here is How I Restarted My Career in Tech after a Ten-year gap!

VMInclusion Taara
Taara in You
Published in
4 min readNov 11, 2021

--

If I can switch from teaching to tech after a long gap, so can you! The decision to start a career in the technology industry from a teaching background didn’t come easy. Meet Dolly Singhal, a mother who started her career in technology after a 10-year career break. Here’s how she rebuilt her career by upskilling with VMware’s VMinclusion Taara program.

The decision to start a full-fledged career in the technology industry didn’t come easy. I had come a long way. After completing my Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech) in 2006, I was more inclined towards teaching. As much as I loved learning, I also wanted to explore teaching as a career opportunity. Upon completing my graduation, I joined as a lecturer in an engineering college. Being with students was a wonderful experience, as it helped me grow in the process while it allowed me to help my students to reach their true potential. I was happy, content, and grateful.

After fruitful four years of teaching, I wanted to embrace motherhood, and the thought of taking a break slowly seeped in. The decision to leave my job seemed necessary as well as scary. Taking a break to have a baby with no security blanket or a job to return to, made me a little uneasy. It suddenly dawned on me that I’d forgone my career to welcome a new bundle of joy in my life. Meanwhile, we moved to a new city to make a fresh start. Having a kid and no obvious career path, I felt motherhood diminished my chances of getting employed. And then, I decided to do something to advance my career. And to continue teaching, I decided to complete my M.Tech in electronics and communication and keep learning. After completing my post-graduation, I had another kid. Embarking on my motherhood journey again was a moment I could cherish all my life, but I could never stop thinking of what would happen once I decided to start my career again. Before I knew it, Ten years flew by, as I enjoyed bringing up my children and focusing on my family.

I don’t regret taking a career break for my kids, but why can’t a woman have it all — a career and kids. Had balancing work and family been so easy, I could have thought of continuing my career. But I would be lying if I said I wasn’t reminded of how being employed made me feel. I wanted the financial freedom and the confidence that came along with work — I missed it. But what could I do to restart my career?

Returning to work after a long spell of absence can be a daunting prospect that can be triggered by a loss of confidence. Not knowing where to start was troubling me. Going to an altered workplace environment where your skills are now outdated wasn’t an option. My background was from teaching, but when I decided to start fresh in the tech sector, my mind was bewildered by endless questions. It was my friend who told me about VMware’s upskilling and return to work program, VMinclusion Taara after she saw an ad online. And when I researched about the program, I realized that I could do it and in fact enjoy it too! To be in the technology sector, you’ve got to learn, unlearn, and keep upskilling and reskilling yourself in new emerging digital transformation technologies to stay relevant. And to me, upskilling in the dynamic tech sector seemed like an imperative and a clear path for kick-starting my professional journey again.

McKinsey Global Institute estimates that as many as 375 million workers globally would need to change occupations due to automation and the emergence of artificial intelligence by 2030. I enrolled for VMware’s VMinclusion Taara program immediately. The program helped me in not just upskilling but also other areas where I needed improvement and guidance. Besides the upskilling courses in the latest digital technologies, the program managers at Taara scheduled mentoring sessions by industry experts, practical sessions, webinars, and an opportunity to network with other women and make new connections. The program has touched so many aspects of my life, boosting my self-confidence. I felt prepared for change and wasn’t anxious anymore. I have completed Level 3 of the program and have found a job with a reputed organization.

I feel more motivated to start my new journey in the technology sector. Effective training does benefit you in different ways, and I’m glad I took this plunge. And if you are too looking to start your career in technology, VMware’s VMinclusion Taara is the right place, to begin with.

Today I proudly call myself a wife, mom of two, and a woman who is chasing her dream career. My 10-year gap has been long forgotten by both the industry and me. And that makes me feel more liberated and confident. Thank you, Taara!

--

--

VMInclusion Taara
Taara in You

VMinclusion-Taara in partnership with Women Who Code aims to help women on a career break rejoin the workforce by training them in advanced technologies