How I Returned to Work after a Seven-year Career Break

VMInclusion Taara
Taara in You
Published in
3 min readMay 18, 2021

--

When Bhawna Hasija took a break from her career to look after her kids, but her short break turned into a 7-year hiatus. Here’s how she got back into the workforce with the help of VMinclusion Taara.

After my brief stint with VMware as a Software Engineer, I had to make the momentous decision to quit my career to look after my kids. While I loved my job, I knew that, at the time, taking a break from my career was the best decision for my family. My husband was traveling a lot for work, and I had to be there for my kids at home.

So why did I decide to return to the corporate world? While I was having fun at home with the kids, I was always passionate about technology. Despite my time away from work, I tried different ways to stay updated with the technology trends. I missed working in a dynamic environment, where work was challenging but you would get to learn so much from your colleagues. I could reach out to people for ideas and suggestions whenever I needed help. I worked in the company for over 5 years, and I believe those formative years of my career made a huge impact on me. I missed those days.

Coming back to the present, I have two lovely kids, and I have loved being there for them. At home, I’m usually a dedicated mother, looking for ways to enhance my kids’ lives. During my break, I pursued a six-month course in Bachelor’s in education on Enhancing Early Education which helped. While my career was pushed to the backseat, I was trying to make the best out of what I had.

When my younger child turned three and was all set to attend her formal schooling, I felt it was the right time for me to return to work. I had been out of the technology ecosystem for over seven years! And I knew for a fact that women face almost insurmountable barriers when they return to their careers. Believe me when I say that the route back to work after taking time out is tough without recruitment programs, upskilling initiatives, or training, and support networks.

According to a survey by Avatar, motherhood challenges (45%) and maternity (35%) are the most common reasons for women to take a break from their careers. In the World Economic Forum’s Global Gender Gap Report 2021, India’s ranking went down to 140th among 156 countries, becoming the third-worst performer in South Asia. Women often stay out of the workforce to care for sick elderly parents or motherhood responsibilities. And factors like their outdated skill set, lack of a strong network, and no family support often add to their woes.

Mainstreaming career returns and normalizing career gaps could push the needle. And that is exactly what this program, VMinclusion Taara is doing right now! It offers the right push to restart your career by helping women upskill in advanced technologies. This was the gateway women like me needed, I was excited to begin my course. When my friend introduced me to VMware’s VMinclusion Taara’, I decided to jump right in. I found enough guidance from mentors and industry experts that made me feel confident and guided. The program gave me the confidence and faith I needed to. Being a busy mother meant, I had to prioritize my studies and work, and manage my time efficiently. I chose Cloud and Virtualization technology course and completed Level 2 of the program. I have been hired by a multinational organization; a lot of things have changed since then. And I’m quite proud of this new status of life. Coming back to work isn’t an easy choice, but you have to be proactive in upgrading your skills. I often tell women that getting back to work and being financially independent is a gift you give yourself. It enhances several facets of your life, including being a better parent! Singing up for VMinclusion Taara will not only uplift your career and life but will help you in the long run. I’m thankful for the program, I can’t get a better start than this. Thank you, Taara

--

--

VMInclusion Taara
Taara in You

VMinclusion-Taara in partnership with Women Who Code aims to help women on a career break rejoin the workforce by training them in advanced technologies