Looking to restart your career? Here is what worked for me

VMInclusion Taara
Taara in You
Published in
3 min readJan 17, 2022

--

Keeping yourself updated with newly introduced industry trends is no more a choice but is a necessity in today’s rapidly evolving work environment. Today, exponential innovations are dominating major sectors like technology while redefining the way work operates. Meet Reena Gupta, who defied all odds by upskilling herself after a decade-long career break and ensured a competitive advantage over others in the job market.

Prior to being a part of a multinational company where I worked for three years, I worked as a lecturer in a college. Like many other new mothers, I too faced the brunt of managing my hectic personal schedule amidst long working hours. As my responsibilities at home began to mount, I decided to quit working full time. During my break that lasted for over a decade, I took up several freelancing projects to keep myself connected to my life as a working professional as I always perceived work as an important part of my personality. I was, however, unaware of the rapid advances that were taking place in the tech sector. I was not able to devote time to stay updated and was therefore not well informed of the changes in the industry.

When I quit my job, I was afraid that my skills would get outdated. And 12 years later, the fear resurfaced as I was now clearly ill-equipped for the modern workforce and industry. Studies suggest that by the next decade, 75 million women will join the workforce in India. That further necessitates the availability of better skilling and learning opportunities for women so they can carve their own path towards a better career and make great strides. I knew I had to upskill but had no idea where to begin. It was my husband who asked me to check our VMware’s VMinclusion Taara skilling program and I immediately registered. This was during the pandemic, and I quickly realized the importance of technologies like Cloud and Virtualization, and the tremendous impact of technology on everyday life. Thanks to VMware’s VMinclusion Taara, I regained hope as I got the opportunity to learn and upskill myself on new technologies like Virtualization, Cloud Automation, and Network Security. I love the fact that it is an online self-paced course which is a huge help.

Certifications and badges are significant offerings that enhance your professional profile but getting back your confidence are paramount, and that’s where I owe it to VMware’s VMinclusion Taara. Restarting one’s career after a long break is definitely challenging, but today, I am happy to say that I am placed in a well-established company and the second phase of my career has taken off, thanks to Taara. My sincere advice to any woman who has taken a break is to take the time to learn more about VMinclusion Taara. Constant learning and guidance from VMware’s VMinclusion Taara are going to make your return to the workforce easier. Firstly organizations looking to hire professionals prefer those who are up to date with the latest in technology and secondly upskilling with courses like the ones offered by VMinclusion Taara gives you the self-confidence that you need. VMinclusion Taara changed the course of my professional life and is sure to help you as well.

--

--

VMInclusion Taara
Taara in You

VMinclusion-Taara in partnership with Women Who Code aims to help women on a career break rejoin the workforce by training them in advanced technologies