VMware’s VMinclusion Taara helped me return to work as a confident, IT professional

VMInclusion Taara
Taara in You
Published in
3 min readOct 26, 2021

--

Women all over the world and across industries sacrifice their ambitions to manage their family responsibilities. Now, one might wonder if these women can restart their careers if they choose to take a break? Meet Amruta Bisain who found herself in that exact position. After having been a part of the tech industry for 17 yrs she had to take a break of 1.5 years to address her personal responsibilities. Little did she know the difficulties she might have to face in picking up where she left off. Read her story on how she found her way back to the tech industry.

It’s time to recaption the term homemaker to a status that can be changed rather than make it seem like a stereotype. The case is more prominent in situations when women decide to take a career break. The career gap and lack of exposure to new technologies for a particular field result in lower self-confidence. The online survey, titled Second Careers of Women Professionals–The India Story — revealed that most women (69%) anticipate a pay cut on re-entry due to the prevalence of motherhood wage penalty, which refers to mothers suffering from wage and hiring disadvantages in the workplace.

“When the going gets tough, put one foot in front of the other and just keep going. Don’t give up.” ― Roy T. Bennett. This is my mantra. I knew I could overcome the perceived shortcoming of a break in my 17 years of career in software testing. Of course, during the break, I did some freelance projects and kept in touch with those who were working in my line of work. As the situation on my family and home front stabilized, I started looking for a job opportunity to get my career back on track. During my search, I realized that the career break was a difficult hurdle as the technology industry was constantly evolving and required updated skills to meet the technology overhaul. It may not be an exaggeration to say that the industry does not look at breaks very kindly.

I learned about VMware’s VMinclusion Taara through a LinkedIn post. Having been a part of the technology segment, I knew about VMware its products and solution, and the respect certification courses from VMware commanded. I was confident that Taara was a progressive course, the one that would be put back me on the right track.

It is worth pointing out that Taara is not a mere upskilling course, Taara is an experience that every ambitious woman looking to restart her career should go through. VMware’s VMinclusion Taara not only upskills you in the latest digital technologies but also builds your confidence through the soft skill courses they offer alongside. The courses are all online and offer great flexibility to learn at a pace that works for you. Once you are a part of the Taara program, you are always connected with trainers and other Taara graduates and learners via e-mail and the Taara social network. The program is user-friendly and interactive, covering relevant areas of technology. Within the initial three weeks, I regained my professional confidence and skills. And soon after completing the course, I got placed as a QA Manager in an organization working in the education segment and am back to chasing my career dreams.

I would like to end by sharing Taara reignited the curious student in me and left me feeling accomplished and confident. I am proud to call myself a mom, a Taara graduate, and an IT professional

--

--

VMInclusion Taara
Taara in You

VMinclusion-Taara in partnership with Women Who Code aims to help women on a career break rejoin the workforce by training them in advanced technologies