The One Question to Ask Yourself When Evaluating a Candidate

Effie Seiberg
tabledotco
Published in
2 min readNov 2, 2015

Helpful advice from one of our very own Experts. These questions can be applied when hiring consultants as well. You can view Effie’s TABLE profile and book time with her here.

In my tech career, I’ve interviewed hundreds of candidates. I’ve given candidates puzzle-style questions while interviewing for Google, case study questions while interviewing for 3D Systems, and every other type of question under the sun while interviewing on behalf of my consulting clients.

But the most critical question I’ve found to hiring success is this:

If there’s a crisis, would I want them in a room with me, brainstorming a way out?

The question winds up summarizing a number of important attributes.

  1. If there’s a crisis, would I trust this person to have the background, skills, and creativity to help get us out? Or are they too green, or too philosophically opposed to how my company likes to work, or can’t see the big picture as well as the detailed view? If any of these don’t fit, out they go.
  2. Could I stand to be locked in a war room for multiple twelve hour stretches with them? Or would they get on my nerves, or clash with my team? A good personality fit with your hires is important!
  3. Can they brainstorm and be flexible in their thinking process? Or do they get stuck in rigid thinking patterns, or attach too much personal pride to their own ideas to be able to see other ideas’ value, or can only think linearly? Especially for small, nimble companies, the type of thinking in good brainstorming is valuable not just in a crisis, but every single day.

If your candidate can hit these three points, then everything else is just details.

--

--

Effie Seiberg
tabledotco

Marketing consultant, helping boost businesses with creative marketing and strategic thinking. Previously at Google, IBM, and more. www.seibergmarketing.com