The Best Holster Companies

Covert Tactical
Tactical Gear Rocks
3 min readAug 19, 2022

--

Whether you are looking for a new kydex or leather holster, I got you covered on what companies to buy from.

The Best Kydex Holsters

My Top Pick: Gunfighters Inc.

When it comes to kydex holsters, there is a clear winner. It’s Gunfighters Inc. However they really only make a couple of different holster variations. It reminds me of every time I go to a restaurant. The smaller the menu, the better I know the food will be. Do a few things and do them well, is the idea here. Gunfighters Inc’s bread and butter is the Kenai Chest Holster. Its absolutely the best chest holster available. The one photoed above was a custom one that took about 6 weeks to get after ordering. It was well worth it though. No other kydex holster manufacturer has such a good click into place and makes your gun feel snug and secure. I liked it so much I also ordered their Ronin holster (also pictured above) which has just as good a snap. I love these holsters. The Ronin ordered as a pre-made “Ready To Ship” and I received it much sooner.

Runner-Up: White Hat Holsters

I have a custom velcro holster for my Kimber 357 Mag from White Hat Holsters that lives in my 511 bag. It’s not pictured here (Sorry I’m not removing it from my bag, it’s placement is just right) but it’s great. It also has a great snap fit but had about a 6 week waiting period for the custom order.

Honorable Mention: Crossbreed Holsters

My first holster from Crossbreed was one of their Super Tucks (Or was it the Mini Tuck?) for my Kimber Micro 9. It was my first kydex holster and for a long time it turned my away from kydex holsters. This is because my gun did not snap very well into the holster and did not feel secure. In fact, I once got into a motorcycle crash wearing that holster and my gun went sliding into down the street. I have since tried their Modular (vecro) holster and it does not suffer those issues, in fact it was a great price and ships fast. I liked it enough to order a second one (One for my Kimber Micro 9 and one for my Sig p365).

The Best Leather Holsters

My Top Pick: Craft Holsters

As you can see in the photo, I have several holsters from Craft Holsters, my latest the Leather Holster with Light for my FN 509 Compact Tactical. They have a great selection of leather holsters at great prices. Their are well made and ship fast. If looking for a leather holster you can’t go wrong.

Runner-Up: Wright Leather Works

Wright Leather Works specializes in ultra premium, hand made in America holsters. They are extremely nice, however they are also extremely expensive and have a current lead time of 5–7 weeks. If you are the kind of guy who wears $600 leather boots, this is the holster to pair with them.

Honorable Mention: Galco Holsters

Galco also makes great holsters. They are on the pricier side though, and sometimes it can be hard to find the one you want in stock. I have skipped ordering from them for this reason. I do have a leather holster from them though for my Kimber 357 Magnum, it’s a quality holster but I think the price is pretty steep.

--

--