Music

Tade
Tade’s Tales
Published in
2 min readNov 10, 2018

I started slow and natural and I would admit to you, those were the simple times. Back then, you could find me around streams as the water trickled towards the ocean over rocks, contributing to my symphonious being. I was soothing, calm and peaceful. I did not stir up emotion, neither did I motivate to action. I could also be discovered in caves, as the wind bellowed through tiny crevices. Still, I was soothing, calm and peaceful. I did not stir up emotion, neither did I motivate to action. This was how I existed in nature. Soothing, calm and peaceful. But incomplete.

Then the birds came, whistling me into complex forms. Instilling me in their conversations and in their mannerisms. I particularly loved the nightingales. Other creatures also contributed to my harmony. Some in collaboration with others. The trees were not left out. They created a different form of me through the movement of their leaves. I’m grateful to them. My harmonious nature was now thoughtful, informative and complicated. Still, I did not stir up emotion, neither did I motivate to action. I simply existed, while becoming the combination of their sounds and thoughts.

Then the humans came, in their pre-evolved forms. Their drums and stomping joined forces to create thunderous version of me. I roared emotion into their hearts. Pushing them to fight, to hunt. Pushing them to action. Pushing them to create more of me. At this time, I stirred up emotion and I also motivated to action. But it was only one form of emotion. It was only a directed form of action.

Then the humans evolved. And with their evolution came my most wondrous era. They started carving instruments dedicated to giving me life. They created a thousand of them, and then they created some more. Each instrument breathed new life into me. The drums imitated their pre-evolution forms but now had enough variation to tell a story. The strings pulled me into ribbons of delight, wrapping me around the world. Then they carved some instruments which they blow into. And like the crevices in the caves, I emerged wistfully. I could tell a million stories and mirror a million hearts. I flowed through the humans easily and freely, uniting their thoughts and emotions. At this point, I had become all encompassing in my infinite forms and variations. Or that was what I thought. Until they melded me with words. Words of emotions and fire. Words that broke boundaries and motivated action. And I was soothing, calm and peaceful. But I was also fiery, thunderous and soulful. I was complete.

--

--